Smartbrief on Leadership

At the half way point in the year for CSR 309 we were asked to subscribe to a leadership site that sent you several good articles pertaining to leadership via email.  At first I was skeptical and didn’t want to but then I saw the benefits.  There were articles that were both inspiring and insightful that if I had free time I could read.  One in particular caught my eye.

An article, written by Tanveer Naseer, was the best example of how CSR 309 was created to develop our skills.  In this brief 3 point article it captured some of Dr. Feinberg’s biggest points.  1.  Build relationships to understand the needs of those you serve.  Both Kirk Weisler and Dr. Feinberg touched on this and it has been very influential in how I have handled myself in current leadership positions.  2. Demonstrate your commitment to doing right and not just being right.  I realized that Dr. Feinberg’s goal was to demonstrate a bad leader, and through his actions he always acted as if he was right, “I know I’m right, I wrote the syllabus.” rather than being a leader that showed understanding and showed people where specific directions would be. Finally, 3.Create an environment where everyone feels heard and understood.  If there is no room for collaboration then there is no room for growth.  If you think you know all the right answers and won’t take others opinions then you are ultimately hurting your team.

 

Attached is the article in full depth by Tanveer Naseer.

 

How Successful Leaders Build Teams That Thrive

Leave a comment